Hanoi street food walking tour
Home | About Us | Contact Booking | Reviews | Email : hanoistreetfoodtour@gmail.com | Link
International phone line : + 84 966 960 188 - Vietnam phone line : 0966 960 188
Street Food Walking Tour | Street Food Puppet Tour | Cyclo Street Food Tour | Scooter Food Tour | Seafood Tour | Vegetarian | HN Package Tours
Hanoi Street Food Reviews - Hanoi Street Food Tours Feedback & Reviews
SoreGums
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 27, 2014 NEWvia mobile

I arrived on Friday afternoon and this was the second thing I did upon arriving to Hanoi/VN (after checking in).

The young lady that took our group around was very friendly and had a lot of interesting things to share about her country. Her English was excellent too.

I got to taste a lot of new things and quickly figure out what was what. I really liked the Bun Cha (rice noodle with pork in a soup) & Nem (spring roll). Also had Banh Cuon (thin translucent white noodle pancake that wraps up a meat vegetable combo), simple dish with lots of flavor. Had a fried fish dish, however I didn't like this one, at least I tasted it though, haha.

The 3 hour foot tour around the old quarter was also interesting. Being Friday night it was quite busy with the majority of people being locals which was great to see. Of course all the foreigners stood out.

As a quick intro to VN and food, this tour was great for the first evening upon arriving in the country.
Highly recommend :)

Visited March 2014
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chynessa
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 27, 2014NEW

I tought i wont enjoy my trip in Vietnam bacause i dont find it so popular but i was wrong. Evrything goes perfect and i can tell that Mark is quite well-informed, personable in addition to passionate. He'll take you places you probably cannot find on your own and the food and atmosphere. It was the best trip i ever enjoy. I enjoy the Food though it looks like weird for me at the first time but the taste was really delicious. I almost spend my money upon eating their dishes and some specialty its really yummy. And Vietnamese people are cool people i enjoy being with a lil chit chat with them. It was a nice place afterall

Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guroo
houghton le spring
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 27, 2014NEW

First we changed our time for this no problem at all and started on the first day we arrived at 5pm. Great timevas hanoi is massively budy then, everything open and its atmospheric do it early in your stay and you'll benefit. 
So an interesting young guide with good English, he took us to start eith Ban Cha (fab) then porj dishes at another place, banana fritter, floating cakes, rice pancakes! Even fresh water chestnuts and finished with fresh beer on beer street and then binus egg ciffee down a little lane!
Great value! You try things you never would, go to places you wouldn't normally and it builds your confidence in knowing whats what.
A must do, JUST BE BRAVE ABOUT TRYING IT ALL.

Visited March 2014
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoistreetfoodtour, Manager at Hanoi Street Food Tour, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Guroo

All of Hanoi Street Food Tour members are very happy to know you and your group satisfaction with street food tour done !
Many thanks for your taking time to share your excellent experience with other Visitors and us on Tripadvisor , we hope from your truly experience with us here , there are many travelers who will select street food tour is a must do activity when coming to Hanoi !

Thanks and Looking forward to see you and your family in Hanoi again 
Hoai Pham Miss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell L
Hanoi, Vietnam
2 reviews
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 26, 2014 NEWvia mobile

We decided to book an evening street food tour on the day we arrived in Hanoi and we had a ball. The two young ladies who took us (Linh and Thai) were brilliant. Informative,cheerful and keen to make us feel comfortable. We tried many different foods and we loved them all. It set us up for meals for the days to follow. We highly recommend the tour.

Visited March 2014
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackN482014
Oakville, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 20, 2014

The guides were very friendly and if it was not for them we would not have been able to taste all the yummy food which you really cannot get in the restaurant. The street was clean and the atmosphere was great. It is the best way to see the culture. 3 hours well spent and I would not mind to do many hours in this way because you really get to see the real thing and appreciate and enjoy the place, food, people, surroundings and culture. Oh it is worth the money too.
So go ahead, do not be afraid and have a lovely time, we did. Can't wait to go again.

Visited February 2014
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael N
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 19, 2014

You can’t have a trip through Vietnam without taking the Hanoi Street Food Tour. Missing out on this event is like skipping casinos in Vegas, it’s a must see tourist attraction.
When I go on vacation, I visit places to learn about the geography, language, and culture. Especially culture. 
As our tour guide, Mr. Lucky explained how food was an integral part of the Vietnamese culture. Because he was so well spoken and knowledgeable, the tour was both enjoyable and educational. Without him, it would be impossible to navigate our way through the labyrinth of delicacies. (Not that it would have been bad to get lost of the traditional food.)
The bustling streets of Hanoi reminded me of that in Los Angeles, California. There was so much activity that it was impossible to keep track of everything going on. That’s not to say that it isn’t peaceful – far from it! Like all other cities, there are areas of serene silence to take a breather and relax.
It’s always a pleasure to discover new exotic food. What set this tour apart was the depth. The sheer number of options was fantastic, but even more, the processes of cooking were revealed. The joyous atmosphere topped it off to make it a great experience. I’m happy to say that I added a substantial amount to my cookbook that day.

Visited February 2014
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EliseRC2014
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 18, 2014

Cannot say enough great things about Miss Moon, our tour guide, and the tour overall. Her effervescent personality, her care and attention to her customers and her knowledge of Hanoi all made a lasting impression. I imagine most Westerners are fearful of stomach upset, different/unusual foods and leary of the experience overall. But you really shouldn't be when in the hands of this tour - they test the places out beforehand, and you will see both locals and foreigners in each place. The food is delicious, and the experience local and fun. We learned a ton about Hanoi itself and how to eat various foods. Definitely put it on your required experiences for Hanoi, and ask for Miss Moon - she is a real gem and consummate professional. Do not miss this tour!

Visited March 2014
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mickemouse_ffm
Mainz, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 6, 2014

If you are visiting Hanoi for the first time and want to try the street food but do not know which places are good to go to as a tourist and at the same time you want to sample some of the traditional Hanoi style food in the local laid back atmosphere but do not know what they are - then you should really try the Hanoi Street Food Tour. We absolutely enjoyed the three hour tour along with our tour guide 'Lucky' who took us to some of the places I would have never dared to stop and eat but aside that I would not even haven known what they offer nor that some of it is traditinal Hanoi food. Each and everyone of the places we went to was wonderful and the food delicious. I actually was somewhat disappointed that we could not go to more places after the three hours were over. Not sure if the guides always go to the exact same places but I would venture to say that all of them are good if you are willing to experience a bit and try to taste the tradtional street food in Hanoi. So I can definitely recommend this tour. It was one of the highlights of our trip to Hanoi. 
PS: I still think the price we paid is reasonable but you could also argue if one would know all the places they show you if you could have done it cheaper. Probably so. But I still think it is worth the money...and also fun and very tasty!! So a great evening out for some traditioanl Hanoi street food!!

Visited March 2014
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChuiYi
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
 23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 starsReviewed March 5, 2014

We had a big group for the night so needed to be "sticky rice" when crossing the road with crazy traffic. Ling and Phouc are good guides and they speak good english. They tried to answer all our questions, not only abt food but also abt vietnam! 
The food are amazing and its good to know what we are eating! (as most of the places have no english menu, not eveh have an english name of the dish...)

Visited March 2014
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes 2

“Hanoi street food at its best”
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 9, 2014 NEW

Thanh, our guide, met us and immediately set us at ease as to what to expect. He was knowledgable, spoke very good English an tailored the tour to suit the groups needs. The food was excellent and in some cases quite unexpected, but all delicious. We also learnt heaps about Hanoi street culture as we wound through the markets, back streets and shops. We squatted on the footpath on little plastic stools, just like the locals and got stuck into duck's tongues, seafood, strange vegetables and flavours I had never experienced before. 
I would recommend this evening tour for anyone interested in Hanoi street culture, Vietnamese food or just for a fun night out. Highly recommended. And Thanh made it even better.

Visited January 2014
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaminTasmania
Hobart, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 8, 2014 NEW

An excellent way to discover old Hanoi with food the linking theme. Make sure you try the egg coffee; sounds weird but is an amazing treat

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful?Yes
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ican50
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 8, 2014 NEW

Four if us spent 3 hours wandering around the old quarter going into food shops we'd never be game to normally try or find. It was a delight, as the guide explained the dishes and the correct pronunciation. The foods were varied, from pillow cakes to egg coffee and ginger flavoured cassava.
We covered quite a few kilometres which helped the appetite. We saw much of the old quarter with guide providing useful information. This tour was well worth the $20 (US) cost.

Visited January 2014
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MissingCC
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
 5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 5, 2014 NEW

I was a bit skeptical: it's a lot of money for Vietnam and the tour was lead by a westerner...but both my girlfriend and I thought that this was among the best experiences we had in Vietnam. Mark has a great personality and the tour was well thought out and extremely informative. This completely eliminated any intimidation you might have in trying Vietnamese street food and provides some information as to what the hell you've just eaten. My girlfriend is far from an adventurous eater and came away very pleasantly surprised. Mark was really good about accommodating our dietary concerns, communicating a small hiccup we had prior to the tour and emailing us quickly after the tour with respect to some questions we had that evening. I would unequivocally recommend this tour.

Pros:
1. Awesome email/communication before and after the tour
2. Mark - he's interesting, intelligent, and funny - just a great guide
3. The food
4. I was concerned about the authenticity of a Vietnamese food tour being done by a westerner. But, it actually added to the experience as Mark is able to bridge language/understanding gaps.

Cons:
1. The price, for Vietnam, is so expensive it made me rethink about booking it - but it's worth it.

Visited January 2014
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy I
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
 5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 4, 2014 NEW

Mark Lowerson's street food tour is essential for the real street food experience. For first time visitors to Hanoi, it is very difficult to know what "hole in the wall" and alleyway offers the best eats.
Mark is very knowledgeable, personable and enthusiastic. He'll take you places you probably cannot find on your own and the food and atmosphere (with actual Vietnamese, not tourists)is fantastic. We took the morning tour since we had only one day in the city and stopped at five unforgettable..I'm not sure you can them restaurants as we know them. 
If we had an extra day we would have taken the all-day excursion, it was that great!

Visited December 2013
Less
Was this review helpful?Yes
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amanda c
West Wick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 starsReviewed January 2, 2014

As my title, just " perfect " for Hanoi Street Food.
Food in Old Quarter really cool, i tried them 03 times when i came to Hanoi.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful?Yes
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norah K
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
 5 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 starsReviewed December 30, 2013

One of the best things that you should try when you travel to Vietnam is Pho – Noodles. It is a staple of Vietnamese cuisine and culture that defines Hanoi special foods. 
As my knowledge, traditionally a northern Vietnamese breakfast specialty, Pho is now eaten through-out the country at any time of day. The origin of Pho is traced back to 1920s. However, it developed incredibly fast. At first, there was only beef noodle soup and it was hawked around the streets. During the 1940s, people started making Pho with chicken as there was a shortage of beef and many people had become addicted to it. Since then, Pho is so popular that almost no street in Hanoi is without a Pho restaurant. In some areas, there are even 3-4 restaurants, from luxurious to simple ones inside alleys, but not every restaurant can satisfy the strict requirements of Hanoian gourmets, who eat Pho every morning or late at night during the four seasons. A bowl of Pho with a cup of black coffee makes a typical breakfast for many Vietnamese people, even in normal day or during holidays in Vietnam.
Pho can be made in more than 20 variations, but always has either a flavorful beef broth or a chicken broth base. Besides, the flavor of Pho varieties from the South to the North. Pho in Hanoi is quite different from that in any other places like Ho Chi Minh City or Nam Dinh. When you travel to Vietnam and enjoy Pho Hanoi, you will find it has the special flavor of the broth stewed with marrowbones, the savour of boiled beef. At the Pho stall you will easily find baskets of Thai basil, bean sprouts, chili peppers as well as green onions, coriander. It is a fantastic magic in the mixture between the bitter greens and the sweet-and-sour broth, with noodles playing their key role. Hanoians love to eat Pho with fewer types of vegetables than the Southerners.
When you go on tour travel packages around Hanoi’s corners street, even it is a vietnam luxury travel tour or a common one, do not forget to stop by a Pho stall, enjoy a small delicious bowl of Pho. It contains the soul of Hanoi that you can not find in any other foods.
I am sure that Pho is one of thest thing you should try in Vietnam!

Visited September 2013
Less

michael o
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
 3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 starsReviewed 12 December 2013 NEW

We lucked out and did this the first night we arrived - it was a really good time, and gave us several places to eat that we ended up going back to. Make sure to pay attention during the tour so you can remember where you went!

Was this review helpful?Yes
Problem with this review?
frandavi99
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
 13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 starsReviewed 8 December 2013 NEW

We were very keen to try some Vietnamese street food but lacked the confidence/know how to go it on our own so this was the ideal way to get around that. Our guide took us on a walk all through Hanoi stopping occasionally for food, drink or an ice cream. We tried some things we never would have otherwise and had a great 3 hours. A must do if you're like us, curious about street food and unsure where to start.

Less
Was this review helpful?Yes
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire B
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
 4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 starsReviewed 30 November 2013

Having landed in Hanoi from London very early in the morning, we decided to have some sleep and go on the evening food Tour to ease ourselves into our first time to Vietnam. 

We are both 30yrs and well travelled but were slightly Apprehensive, to be eating in 'locals' street food places, we decided to try the tour out anyway given the TA reviews. 

It was absolutely fantastic!!! And a great decision!! 

Chinh our guide was so personable, knowledgable and proud of her country, she made us feel really relaxed in our tour of 4 people. 

Being from London, we aren't used to sitting on tiny stalls with food being prepared everywhere - but the food we sampled throughout the 10 different places was DELICIOUS, we would never have tried these places had Chinh not been with us - a few places were down little ally's - which you would not know about as a tourist...we had a great tour....highly recommend!!!! 

The old quarter is so fascinating and having a beer watching the world go by was definitely exciting. 

Anyone not sure, give this tour a go it was great fun and the food so nice! 

We also booked the airport transfer, the driver was waiting straight away as we landed - Awsome Tours has been a great choice.

Enjoy Hanoi!


5 of 5 starsReviewed November 4, 2013

We walked pass a street and saw a few Vietnamese taking noodles with tofu, a slide of pork cake, some vege and cucumber. They do not speak English but asking us to sit down and have a try. The lady then take out a VDN 20,000 note and point to all the food in front of her. We tried it and found that the food is delicious. The fried tofu, pork cake with the fish source is really nice. Must try in Hanoi for food street. It is the local food in Vietnam.

“Tasty Hanoi street food”
5 of 5 starsReviewed February 29, 2012

This place lives up to its reviews--it is a nice little place with seating on the street and some inside. It serves a set meal and they put food in front of you while you are being seated at communal tables. Grilled pork patties and fried spring rolls together with plates of rice noodles, greens and sauces which you mix and eat with a spoon and chopsticks. About $4 per person. In the Old Quarter.

5 of 5 starsReviewed November 19, 2013 NEW

The Old Quarter has lots of narrow streets with shops of every description selling goods of every description as well as street vendors selling food and clusters of people sitting on the side eating various dishes.


5 of 5 starsReviewed November 14, 2013 NEW

This area of Hanoi is a must for any visitor whether on foot, cyclo or the newer elctric tourist buggy. This area portrays the bustle of an old city where the essence of the place is hard work. There are such a variety of items available in their specialist streets that you wish there was something like it at home. Hopefully the B&Q's of this world do not find there way into a city centre like this.

Visited September 2013



tinerary of Old Quarter Walking + Street Food Tour
We start our evening walking tour at Hanoi’s largest covered market, Dong Xuan. Along the perimeter of the market, dozens of street hawkers sell a staggering variety of produce from live seafood to exotic fruits and spices. Your expert English-speaking local guide will give you an insight into the intricacies and traditions of Vietnamese food culture including details on ingredients and historical backgrounds of popular northern dishes. We eat as we go, trying seasonal fruits and sampling a tasty French-inspired snack from a street cart.
Walking through the maze of bustling streets that make up Hanoi’s Old Quarter, we tempt our tastebuds with the famed Hanoi dish Banh Cuon at a local eatery. Watch in awe as the skilled chefs demonstrate for you how this tasty dish is put together. Continuing into the atmospheric heart of the Old Quarter, we wander past street stalls and quiet residential lanes where you can observe local life that has changed little since Hanoi was founded over 1000 years ago. 
Our next two snack stops are at outdoor barbeque stalls. We sit down with the Hanoi locals and sample various meat, vegetable and bread specialties that are flame grilled over hot coals for extra flavour.  It’s then time for dessert as we venture down a small alley to join in the local tradition of feasting on fresh fruit served in a cup and smothered with crushed iced and condensed milk – this speciality is one not to be missed!
Your local guide will then take you to one of Hanoi’s best kept secrets, a hidden café with stunning views over the picturesque Hoan Kiem Lake.  This hard-to-find café is one of the few left in the city that still serves egg coffee, a scrumptious local delicacy that we will sample whilst admiring the hustle and bustle of the city centre below. Or, if coffee is not your style, a cold beer awaits!. At the end of the trip you are free to continue exploring the area or your guide will assist  you with directions or a taxi back to your hotel.

   
 
Hanoi Street Food Tour Recommened by
Hanoi nightlife + street food tour
Departure at 19h30
Duration: 2,5 hours
Price: 25 $ /01Person
Include: food,drink & tour guide
Meeting at 74 Hang Bac street, Hanoi
Book it now
Greatest street food & drink in Hanoi
Banh Cuon
Banh cuon is a Northern Vietnamese dish that migrated to Hanoi .Read
Bun Cha Pork patties and slices of pork belly are grilled over hot coals and served with fish sauce .Read
Bun Rieu Cua
Freshwater crabs flavor this tangy tomato soup that's made .Read
Pho As the birthplace of pho, Hanoi is ground zero for the fragrant rice noodle soup served with fresh herbs Read
Chao Ca Toast has nothing on chao ca, so if you're looking for a satisfying breakfast in Hanoi .Read
Xoi - Sticky Rice
In the morning you'll find the sticky rice vendors out hawking their wares. Read
Hanoi Coffe Coffee was brought to Vietnam by the French and is, along with baguettes .Read

Hanoi Street Food & Drink
In Hanoi the food is plentiful, it’s everywhere that you look and is an integral part of the livelihoods of many locals.  More often than not, the street is the stage where much of what is food related in Hanoi takes place.
Street food can be found on the main streets of Hanoi, and down many of the side streets and alleways. Most areas aren’t dedicated to food, and you’ll find places to eat sandwiched in between residences and all kinds of businesses. Several times my wife and I would walk down an alleway that looked interesting only to find ourselves in the courtyard of a residence. The looks we received on these occasions ranged from puzzled to nonchalance.
I’m not sure whether there is any regulation as to where people can sell food. Most of the time the wandering vendors seem to simply set up shop where they want, and then move on to another spot depending on how busy things are.
More Read

Hanoi Street Food Tour
Add : 74 Hang Bac Street at Kim Tours's Building - Old Quarter - Hanoi - Google Location Map
Tel :Outside Vietnam : + 84 966 960 188 - Inside Vietnam : 0966 960 188
Website: www.hanoistreetfoodtour.com - Facebook : www.facebook.com/hanoistreetfoodtour -
Email : hanoistreetfoodtour@gmail.com